how to build a cake

Y’all I have an illness. I love, LOVE party stuff. Love. I like figuring out creative favors, and picking a theme and making the cake. I spend more time than I care to admit looking for party hats that are up to my standards and paper products that aren’t cheesy. I am not a fan of cartoon characters on cake, and I am to much of a priss to be satisfied with someone else’s interpretation of my idea. Often this means that I have to make the cake myself. Yeah. I told you that I had a problem.

Raise your hand if you think I should get over myself already.

(thrusts own hand into air)

Sheesh.

Parental neuroses not withstanding, this year the dude is having a construction party complete with tiny hard hats.

And this cake.

I think it turned out pretty well. Sure, I wish I could have found my piping tips so that the writing looked better, but a girl can’t have everything and Bex certainly won’t care.

Full disclosure, the cupcakes are from a bakery. I just prettied ’em up.

My name is Jessica and I have a problem.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “how to build a cake

  1. Lisa

    That, my friend, is awesome! The rocks and the dirt on top are so cute.

  2. alese

    As your mom, I don’t think your brand of uber-creativity is at all a problem! I love to see all the interesting ways you put your brand on the smallest details!

  3. Heather M.

    Bring your little problem on over to our house! I would love to put you to work! Awesome cake! So cute!

  4. 1longadventure

    I ABSOLUTELY love it! You are SO creative. Care to help me plan Amos’ next birthday?

Leave a Reply

