bananas for banana bread. 110/365

Admittedly, I have some weird food loves, and some hates (cilantro is a vile weed. end of story) for that matter, but this story is about love. Now, I should tell you that I am not a big banana eater. I don’t really like them unless they are wearing copious amounts of nutella or are swimming in ice cream, but in banana bread, well, that is a different story entirely.

One of my fondest early memories is of eating banana bread at my Omy’s kitchen table. I’m not sure if it is nostalga or deliciousness that keeps me coming back for more, but I must make this bread a couple times a month. It’s great for breakfast and snacking. It freezes beautifully. It is ridiculously easy to make. In fact, every time I whip up a lof I think that I should share the love with all of you, but then I don’t. It’s sort of a family secret… but you guys are kind of like a weird, disfunctional extended family, so….

Shhh….. Do you wanna know a secret? Can you promise not to tell?

Behold. The coveted family banana bread recipe. As long as you don’t go selling your baked goods on the internets and becoming a gazillionaire we can still be friends. Of course, if you do become a baked good bazillionaire, I do accept hush money. I’m just sayin’.

Omy’s Banana Bread

1 c mashed banana (approx 2 bananas)
1 t lemon juice (optional)
1/2 c sugar
2 eggs
1/4 c vegetable oil

2 c flour
1 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1/2 c finely chopped nuts (optional)

Omy’s method:

Mash bananas with sugar and lemon juice in small bowl and set aside. In large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nuts (if using). Make a well in the dry mixture and pour wet ingredients into center.  Gently mix with spoon until combined. Mixture should be wet but still a bit lumpy. Pour into greased loaf pan and bake at 325 for one hour or until golden on top and knife inserted in center comes out dry.

My method:

Dump everything but flour & nuts into blender. Buzz until smooth.  Dump in flour. Buzz again. Leave out nuts as husband despises them almost as much as I do cilantro. Pour into greased pan and bake. From measuring cup to oven in under five minutes.

Full disclosure here, the crumb isn’t quite as nice that way, but Bex will still eat it and so will I. I prefer it made by Omy’s method, but convenience usually wins out.  Also, it’s pretty forgiving with the amount of banana. Whatever two bananas works out to be volume wise would be fine.

Now, go forth and bake. You’ll be glad you did.

3 Comments

Filed under a word from jess

3 responses to “bananas for banana bread. 110/365

  1. I’m so going to try this soon! I’ve been wanting to bake banana bread and this sounds really good and easy! I too hate cilantro! Brent made salsa last night and made me some special without it b/c I really can’t stand it!

  2. Amy

    I have a couple kids that are nuts (seriously nuts) about bananas…I am going to make your Omy’s bread this week. Thanks for sharing your secret family receipe :o)

  3. Dianna

    I’m going to try the banana bread (although I usually make the recipe from the old Betty Crocker cookbook!). But all this time, I’ve been thinking we were like sisters and now I find that you consider me “kind of like a weird, disfunctional extended family”??? Oh wait… that’s EXACTLY like sisters 🙂

    Love ya Jess!

Leave a Reply

