all dinosaurs have different features…

The dude and I are spending some quality time together this week while school is out. Bored with our usual television options we did some channel surfing and happily discovered Dinosaur Train. Not only was the episode all about dino poop (A big topic around here as we make the transition to all big boy underpants, all the time. Well, people poo, but still.), but it had a subtle little touch that was extra pleasing to our multi-hued family.

The last little baby was a different size,

with teeth and a tail and big green eyes.

He didn’t look anything like the rest,

and asked “What am I doing in a Pteranodon nest?”

But dear old Mrs. Pteranodon said “This is your family and I’m your mom.”

You may be different, but we’re all creatures

All dinosaurs have different features.

I truly appreciate when a children’s program can incorporate positive messages about adoption and diversity without beating you over the head. It’s official. I now heart Dinosaur Train.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “all dinosaurs have different features…

  1. Jenn

    We’ve been watching Dinosaur Train since it first premiered earlier in the school year. I knew I’d love it when I first saw the previews for it on PBS! I think I twittered once about how much I like Jim Henson studios – this show is about adoption/diversity of species and Sid the Science Kid is has a mixed race family. I love how they easily weave those themes into their shows without hitting you in the head with it.

  2. Tricia O'Connor

    So glad you found Dino Train. What little guy doesn’t love dinos and trains – together they are a perfect combination. The poop and multi-cultural family is such a bonus.

  3. Jenn Haddock

    Lukas loves Dinosaur Train too. I think lots of little boys do because a kid at church was talking to Lukas about dinosaur poop the other day. Had to be Dinosaur Train 🙂

  4. dania

    We too love this show! Paxton really like Elmo way more, but he knows that if this comes on then after will be “lalala”!

  5. emily

    my niece LOVES Dinosaur Train, glad you have found it to be a good cartoon too.

Leave a Reply

