clear.

The MRI was blessedly, if somewhat perplexingly, clear. Clear. No malformations. No structural abnormalities. No evidence of stroke or brain bleeds. No severed, torn or otherwise damaged nerves. Nothing of any diagnostic significance whatsoever.

All clear.

The good news is that this pretty much rules out many of the ugliest possibilities. The bad news is that we are really no closer to an answer.

I am at once thankful, ecstatic, and confused.

I’m tired of taking shots into the dark… tired of the unknown. I feel like I am a much more effective advocate if I know what I am advocating for. I know I am a better fighter if my enemy has a name. Alas, I have no names. I have nothing to research and conquer it whatever tiny ways I can. I feel completely powerless and that doesn’t sit well with me. So. We continue to wait for further testing and hope that this all just turns out to be a quirky holdover of institutional living. We continue to hope for improved functionality and more words and we rejoice in all of the progress that has already been made, because Bex is an awesome little dude and none of this crap  is gonna hold him back. He is a fighter, even if he doesn’t know who he is fighting. I’m the only one who has a problem with that part, so, in the meantime, I am just trying to be ok with all of the lingering questions.  I’m trying to be ok with taking shots in the dark. I’m trying.

The one thing I do know is this: “Clear” is an awesome word.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “clear.

  1. alese

    Amen! Clear is an awesome word.

  2. emily

    so glad to hear the news…thinking of you.

  3. Great news!!! (if not a little frustrating). I hope you’ll soon get some non-scary answers with straightforward solutions.

  4. Lisa

    Yay for CLEAR!

  5. Jessica V

    That is good news! I will pray you get some answers soon!

  6. Clear is good. Clear is very, very good.

    Next up: answers!

  7. A beautiful word, but I understand your frustration. Part of figuring out what is, is figuring out what’s not.

  8. Erin

    Wonderful. What a relief!

  9. Jen

    I am so happy to hear that his MRI is clear….but how perplexing that there are still no answers for you! Hugs.

  10. Just saw this post. Very happy for you guys that the MRI is clear and hopeful for you to find an explanation.

Leave a Reply

