sunday is for pancakes

Ken usually makes us pancakes for breakfast on Sunday mornings.  Yum, right? Until recently he insisted on using something like B*isquick to make his signature dish, but for some crazy reason I got tired of 1) paying for flour in a fancy box, and 2) buying something that I could so easily make myself with extremely minimal effort. So, after less than 5 minutes of ingredient measuring I have enough mix for four weekends worth of pancakes. I don’t know the exact cost savings, but I’m sure it exists. Plus, these pancakes contain no preservatives, nothing artificial, and can be made with the ingredients that I choose (organic unbleached or whole wheat flour, minimally processed sugars, etc) instead of the ones that make General Mills happy.

In the end, I don’t know for certain that these are better for me, but they sure taste good, and it honestly doesn’t take any longer to assemble these ingredients than it does to scoop and mix from a box. I’m just sayin’.

Easy Pancakes

2 c flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 T -1/4c sugar

1 or 2 eggs

1 1/2 to 2 c milk

splash of vanilla

Around here we mix up the dry ingredients and store in baggies in the cabinet. Then, instead of reaching for the store bought baking mix, we grab one of our bags and let the pancake production begin.

That being said, it’s Sunday, and I smell something good in the kitchen…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

