tic toc, says the clock

As many of you know, I have an artifical heart valve that makes a clicking sound. Some say it sounds like a really, really loud clock.

So…

The boy is puny this morning and was being unusually cuddly. He say in my lap with his head on my chest for the better part of an hour. At one point he began tapping my arm in something of a rhythmic way. Then he started making his version of a clock sound. This went on for at least 10 minutes, only stopping for the occasional giggle. He’d lift his head, make his clock sound and laugh. Then he’d throw his head back onto my chest, tap my arm, and tic some more. For an embarrassingly long tome I was trying to figure out what he was doing and why he thought it was so funny. Then it hit me… he was tapping my arm to the beat of my valve, making clock sounds because that’s what I sounded like, and laughing at the absurdity of it wall. Well played, Bex. Well played.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “tic toc, says the clock

  1. alese

    I love it! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. HeatherM.

    Oh, this is the sweetest story! I wish I would have written more down when the boys were little…you will treasure these later as well!

    Heather M .

  3. That is precious. My valve was repaired so I don’t have the ticking. Guess you have another way of bonding with your child that most don’t. At least it’s an early musical lesson on rhythm. That’s pretty cool.

    Heather

  4. jen

    That is adorable! He had to be very in tune with his mama to hear that 🙂

Leave a Reply

