just say no to cilantro

I would never dream of chopping up the soap and dumping it in my salsa, and until a day comes where that sounds like a good idea, I won’t be putting cillantro in my salsa either. I hate the stuff. HATE. It tastes like grassy soap… and the smell…omg, the smell. I feel queasy thinking about it. As a party of one firmly entrencehed in the pro-cilantro region known as my house, it is refreshing to know that I am not alone. Other folks hate the vile weed too, and some of them do stories on NPR to that effect. They also think it tastes like soap and smells like something unspeakably horrific. Hooray for validation!! Some think our aversion to what is considered by most to be delicious is caused by some kind of genetic abnormality. Or it could be that our noses don’t work very well. In the end, I suppose it is ok if you want to think you are superior because you like to eat soap weeds, especially if you are ok with being wrong. : )

So, spill it peeps. Which side of the great cilantro debate are you on?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “just say no to cilantro

  1. Love, love, love cilantro!!! I don’t think it’s possible to have too much!

  2. my house is split 50/50 (A doesn’t count yet). I can’t stand to even smell it. Uuuugghhh… however, the chef tells me something is dreadfully wrong with me because he LOVES it and is SO sad to leave it out of shared recipes.

  3. Anne

    I’m afraid I’m in the “I Love Cilantro” camp. I think it’s deeee-licious! 🙂

  4. I LOVE cilantro. I don’t think it tastes like soap (can’t figure that one out), and I can’t get enough of it. At Mexican restaurants I ask for an extra side of it to put on top of my meal and I can go through half a bunch in one casserole at home. 🙂 My husband isn’t that big of a fan, but he’ll eat anything, so he bears with me.

  5. alese

    Sorry to admit it, but I love the smell! Don’t know where you have been getting your soap! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. Erin

    I love cilantro so much, I would bathe in it. How’s that?

    The funny thing is, I used to HATE it until I was probably 25. Then something clicked in my brain and now I can’t get enough.

  7. Erin

    Oh and how can you eat pho or a good Vietnamese sandwich without a ton of cilantro and hunks of red onion? They are partners in crime. The yin and the yang. The tomayto to my tomahto. Or ya.. something like that.

    Sacrilege!

  8. Oh, I’m with YOU! Well, I guess I can’t say that I hate it because I can handle a little in my burrito, but I would definitely prefer everything sans-cilantro.

  9. I LOVE IT. It doesn’t taste like soap at all to me.

    I wonder if this is a genetic thing, like the difference between people who think beets taste like dirt and people who think beets taste sweet and delicious?

    (I am in the “beets taste like dirt” group. Husband loves beets. Yech.)

  10. dania

    I don’t LOVE it or HATE it, but I think if I had my choice, I wouldn’t put it in salsa. I do agree with law mommy though, that beets taste like dirt, well I’m sure they do as I’ve never eaten one!

  11. Love it, want to eat it and smell it all the time. What is wrong with YOU!?! 🙂

  12. I love cilantro! But, I do live in Texas, and it’s totally a pre-requisite for residency here. In fact, when you apply for your driver’s license, there’s a box you have to check to declare your undying love for cilantro. And green chilies. And jalepenos.

  13. I can’t eat the pho that is served around here because of all of the cilantro! I cannot stand it one bit…it makes me want to be ill. I’m with you!

  14. alese

    I also think beets taste like dirt! Can’t stand their smell either. Wonder of there is some connection between loving cilantro and hating beets?

  15. Jen R.

    I love cilantro… sorry… it’s just so very delicious

  16. Jen R.

    Oh but I like beets too… especially in a lot of vinegary goodness

  17. I would bathe in it too! Love it! Found out after many dinners at our house, where I use cilantro liberally, that one of our good friends doesn’t like it. Wish he would have told me first! My cousin thinks he doesn’t like it but always asks for second of stuff I make with it.

Leave a Reply

