b is for bake sale

It’s official. I’m a mother. As of last night I fully embraced the over committed parent thing and remembered (7ish) that I was supposed to make cookies for the school bake sale. Crap. How did I forget that? Why did I volunteer in the first place? It sounded like a good idea way back in August, but today, not so much. I panicked a little when I realised we had no baking powder, but I managed to cobble something together using baking mix that had leavening in it already. The resulting cookies were quite good, if not super delicious, and at least my contribution will make it to the school today. Besides, the bake sale patrons will never know that I jacked up the recipe. Shh! Don’ tell.

What? You want to know what I made?

Brownie Roll Out Cookies from Smitten Kitchen (her photo, not mine). I adore these cookies. They are simple, delicious, and forgiving enough to let you substitute baking mix for half of the flour. Toss in some mini chocolate chips… heaven.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “b is for bake sale

  1. Erin

    YUM!! Wonder how many calories are in each one… Eek! I will have to add her blog to my Google Reader – looks cool.

  2. Hmmm, I’m dubious that they are up to “Jessica Cookie” standards. But that’s okay maybe the wee ones won’t know what a really good cookie tastes like yet. 🙂

  3. Jen

    Sounds delish and looks even better!
    You go MOM!

  4. Jenn Haddock

    I must make these! I’m on my way out to a Pampered Chef party; wonder what kind of new tools I can justify buying because of this new recipe?

  5. I’m sure they were delicious, but even had they completely bombed … it’s not like they taste test before they sell. I’ve gotten some serious jacked up baked goods at sales, but of course the point is to support the cause so I just tossed them 🙂

  6. I’ve missed you…I lost you when you moved to your new site. Guess I thought blogger would just track you to wordpress. Duh?

    These look great! We’ll try next time I feel like rolling…

Leave a Reply

