candy? who needs candy?

Not me. At least not when I have a pumpkin cookie nearby.

I’ve been making these cookies since around third grade, but a few years ago I lost the recipe. Since then I’ve been trying various versions, none of which lived up to the original. Inspired by the cold snap I thought I’d give it another go. I made a few alterations to an existing online recipe and Eureka!! I finally managed to recreate my all time favorite fall treat.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 cups vegetable shortening
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 bag chocolate chips
  • PREHEAT oven to 350° F.

    COMBINE flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and ginger in medium bowl. Beat shortening and granulated sugar in large mixer until light and fluffy. Add pumpkin, eggs and vanilla extract; beat until blended (mixture will look curdled). Gradually add flour mixture into pumpkin mixture and beat at low speed until combined. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased baking sheets.

    BAKE for 12 to 15 minutes or until edges are just starting to brown.

    Adapted from recipe on verybestbaking.com

    1 Comment

    Filed under Uncategorized

    One response to “candy? who needs candy?

    1. emily

      yummm, i want one!! i haven’t had these since my mom said she didn’t really like them, remember that? come on dora!!!

    Leave a Reply

    