a word about vietnamese food

I love Vietnamese food. Love it! I dig pho, crave spring rolls, and utterly adore most anything involving fresh herbs and rice noodles. That having been said, I strongly encourage Vietnamese chefs to stick to their strong suits. Don’t go tempting a cookie loving westerner with pseudo cookies. It’s rude. Of course, I suppose I should have known better. They label clearly says “coikes” which I’m guessing is pronounced like ‘koi’ with a ‘ks’ on the end. Be warned future travellers, a coike is not a cookie. It may look like a cookie. It may smell like a cookie, but cookies have sugar. Coikes… not so much.

Tonight we had a bit of a send off meal with Mary (Erin’s mom) and Loston, and the Payne crew. Poor sick Erin missed out on one delicious meal. We’ve posted pics on the photo page. I had some of the best udon noodles I’ve ever tasted and Ken dined on chicken pho followed by a Mediterranean Lamb special. Beckett had some cheerios and gerber banana puffs. If you should find yourself in Hanoi, hop on over to the Somerset Grand/ Hanoi Towers and go to Jaspas on the 4th floor. you’ll be glad you did.

9 Comments

Filed under In Vietnam, Uncategorized

9 responses to “a word about vietnamese food

  1. Nicki

    hilarious!!!

    Have a safe trip home!!!! Looking forward to reading more from the other side 🙂

  2. Stacy

    Thanks for the warning on the “coikes” – it is so unfair that it’s not really a cookie – looks 100% like one to me!

    Congrats on wrapping things up and getting back home – what great news!

  3. Heather

    I also learned that “brownies” are not really what I would consider to be brownies. Oh well! Congrats on your good news.

  4. Miss Cleo

    Pho is the perfect all weather food. I love the beer pics. One has to cherish all memories.

  5. Bryan

    mmm, now I crave Jessica Cookies!! 🙂

  6. rachel

    It does look quite tasty. 😦

    I’m sure you’re already headed back, but have a safe and uneventful trip. I can’t wait to hear all about it and see pics of beckett at home!!

  7. Willis

    Glad you were digging the Vietnamese food. . . we had a little harder time adjusting to the food. So glad you are coming home with your sweet boy! What a great Independence Day!

    Heather in SC

  8. Linh

    Ah, but the French pastries are to die for! The Vietnamese ones are tasty, too but most folks have to grow up eating them to really appreciate them.

    BTW, I’m trying to contact you about your CafePress shop. There are some wrong translations in Vietnamese and Korean….both languages are relational (literally and figuratively) so some of your shirts don’t make sense and there’s a mispelling for “dep.” The dot goes under the “e.” Also, it means beautiful but for boys and men we use “dep trai” to mean handsome. No Vietnamese male would stand for beautiful.;)

    Other examples are that sister and brother differ depending on birth order (younger sister, older sister, etc.). In Korean it’s more complicated as it also depends on the gender of the sibling. For example, as a woman, I would call my older brother differently than if I were a man. The word for baby is also wrong. These differences really do matter. It’s like writing “si” or “br” to mean sister and brother.

    Anyway, please contact me and I can assist with more appropriate translations. linh.song @ gmail.com

    Congratulations on bringing your son home!!!

  9. Paul & Erin

    Man, that cookie would totally fool me. Looks pretty good! 🙂 Congrats on everything – Beckett is so very handsome!

Leave a Reply

