brace yourself, this is gonna be a long one.

It is starting to look like we might have one of the shortest VN trips to date. Though still remote, there is the possibility that we could head home as soon as Tuesday evening. If we are able to schedule our embassy interviews for Monday afternoon, Beckett’s visa should be ready around 4:00 on Tuesday evening. If everything falls into place and we are able to get seats on a plane we could be sleeping in our own beds before the end of the week. I’m not holding my breath though, and neither should you.
Our trip from HCMC to Hanoi was better than I expected. Beckett did extremely well on the flight. He only fussed once for about five minutes, but never any full out crying. We had to feed the boy three bottles during a two and a half hour flight in order to keep him happy. I’m not sure that bodes well for out trans-pacific leg… no way can we carry enough supplies for the 38 bottles that yesterday’s flight suggests he would need.

The landing in Hanoi was by far the roughest touch down I’ve ever experienced. As opposed to slowly descending until the landing gear made contact, it felt like we suddenly dropped 20 or so feet and hit the runway with a jarring thud. The impact was so hard that some of the oxygen masks deployed. Once we had come to a complete stop the captain announced that he was training a new pilot and apologized for the hard landing. I know that pilots have to get a certain amount of on the job training, but maybe the new guy shouldn’t try landing a jet in a downpour if he doesn’t feel fully confident. Just a thought. As if that wasn’t enough excitement, the shuttle bus taking us to the hotel was being driven by a crazy person. In the course of a 25 kilometer drive he got so close to a minibus that the side view mirror scraped along the side of the bus, he hit a lady on a motorbike causing her to fall completely off and lose one of her shoes, and when we pulled into the hotel, he collided with a street sign and only avoided hitting a pedestrian couple because all of us were going completely ballistic. Talk about a wild ride!

The hotel here in Hanoi is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, the beds are plush, and the room service is phenomenal!

Despite the fact that I knew this wasn’t a vacation, I have to admit to hoping that Beckett would be up for a little more exploring. I’m so glad that we decided to take a tour of HCMC the day before we went to Vinh Long, as it would not have happened otherwise. I had grand plans for amazing shopping, but since we got the babe it became clear that we would be better served staying close to the room. He’s a great kid, don’t get me wrong, but there is so much change in his world that a short trip to the grocery store leaves him fussy, tired, and suffering from extreme sensory overload. It simply hasn’t seemed like a good idea to venture out to many restaurants, landmarks, or the like. Even so, I feel like we’ve gotten a taste of what the country has to offer, and I so look forward to bringing him back to VN so that we can all experience his birth land from a different point of view.

Tonight we plan to head down to the hotel restaurant for dinner and maybe do a little shopping if Bex is up for it. Tomorrow we have been told to stay in the hotel room and wait for the phone call confirming our embassy appointment.

Once we have a firm return schedule we’ll let you know.

9 Comments

Filed under In Vietnam, Uncategorized

9 responses to “brace yourself, this is gonna be a long one.

  1. Daniel and Jamie

    Sounds like things are going well! Your ride from the airport sounds crazy! If Beckett is up to it the water puppets are great and that wouldn’t be too long of an outing. It doesn’t sound like y’all will have time to go to Ha Long Bay.

  2. Dianna

    It sounds like your trip to Vietnam is a great introduction to the ‘normal’ pattern of parenting – always completely unexpected and never according to plan! I’m glad Bex is doing so well, and I hope the ‘pilot in training’ stays far away from your flight home 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed for quick appointments this week!

  3. alese

    Not exactly what Mr. Ken needed! Bless his heart!

  4. Nicki

    First of all, I’m really excited that you could be coming home so quickly and smoothly! YAY! Second I am really REALLY sorry for your harrowing transport from HCMC to Hanoi! It sounds hilarious but I think I would have peed a little! haha. I definitly remember that sensory overload too – Addison slept every single time we left the hotel and in retrospect I realize itw as because she was “shutting down” – too much, too soon. No one tells you about that part!

  5. Miss Cleo

    Sounds like a very scary landing. Glad you made it. You bring up a good point- that not all kids can deal with being shuttled around everywhere. We are get-up-and-go people. I will have to keep that in mind!

  6. Cindy and Chuck

    Between the plan landing and the bus ride, I would have been ill. Good luck getting home sooner than expected!

  7. Nadra

    Here’s hoping that you’ll be heading home very soon. I’ve loved following your journey.

  8. Dan and Elisabeth

    Oh my….I know I’m not suppose to laugh but WOW your plane ride and bus ride is a great story! I would have been sick by the time I landed at the hotel. Enjoy the Sommerset! It is great. I hope you are home very soon.

  9. Jenn

    ahh, it sounds like the realities of parenting are already coming to fruition …. i.e. no fun shopping and excursions during the trip. Isn’t this why we all should have become parents when we were young and stupid??? 🙂 I’m sure the joy is vastly outweighing such things!!

    Sounds like you’ve had a remarkably smooth trip and if you return to the jungle that is your yard, feel free to blame me as I monopolized B’s time and prevented him from his yard boy duties 🙂

    safe travels!!

Leave a Reply

