mini meltdowns and a lot of napping

Yesterday the plan was to stay in the hotel and spend the day getting to know each other. After the previous day of super smiley easygoing baby, we figured that our luck was running out and didn’t want to have our first major meltdown in the middle of a mall. I wouldn’t say that the little dude went nuclear, but he spent a large part of the day crying. It is clear that his teeth hurt. A lot. He’s also completely off of his standard schedule and a little freaked out by his surroundings. I think that some crying is perfectly understandable. He also has a bit of a chest cold and after ransacking the luggage this morning I have come to the realisation that I left the baby decongestant at home. Oops! Thankfully Erin’s mom is a nurse and brought a miniature pharmacy with her. They are due back here today and we’re hoping to score some drugs. Otherwise we’ll try to find some at the store.

Things are still going well, even with some crying. We don’t quite pick up on all of Beckett’s signals, but I’m sure that will come with time. It’s unrealistic to expect to completely understand each other this early in the game… though that would be nice.

Today we were told to stick close to the room in case the Dillon staff need to reach us. The Dads are meeting this afternoon to apply for the baby passports. Today or tomorrow we expect to have our immigration interviews. I’ll keep you posted on our progress.

7 Comments

Filed under In Vietnam, Uncategorized

7 responses to “mini meltdowns and a lot of napping

  1. rachel

    Sounds like Beckett is doing well, all things considered. At his age I think NOT grieving would be a sign of concern. Sorry he has a little cold. 😦 Hopefully you can get hooked up with some meds soon. I hope your first appt is soon. So exciting that they are now speeding up the process a bit.

  2. Nita D

    Aw, sorry about the cold. But as far as the rest, I say !!!!!! and !!!!!!!!

  3. Peter

    I can’t get over how cute he looks. What a cute kid.

  4. Anonymous

    Yee HAW! Get that baby home. Is he enjoying the Baby Bjorn? Cause he looks concerned. Now, if he were in an ERGO…*grin* You know I’m kiddin. Thanks for the update, and we hope he gets to feeling better soon.

    Take care,

    Kat.

  5. Anonymous

    P.S. I’ve watched the videos like five times–SO GREAT. Pretty impressive that he can hop up on his knees like he does at the end. I bet live is even cuter than memorex, if that’s possible.

  6. jjm

    Actually, Kat, in the photo with me hes in an Ergo… Hmmm… I like the ergo better now that I’ve but a baby in it, but we accidentally left the buckle that cinches the shoulder straps together at home, so it doesn’t work as well unless you do the hip carry. Someone told me to try crossing the straps over the back sand that makes up for the lack of the other buckle.

  7. Anonymous

    Congratulations!!! He is absolutely adorable!! I am so happy for you both and Mr. Beckett. It has been such fun reading over your “adventures in nam” and the pictures are fabulous (especially Ken wearing a baby sling, who would have ever thought…especially after his first experience meeting miss lizzie!!) She and I will be in LR for the week of July 15th and would love to meet the little man and catch up with you so please let me know if you guys have the time. I will be praying for safe, calm and hassel free travel home for your whole group and I hope to see you soon!

    Amanda Apple-Guldi
    479-601-5392

Leave a Reply

