at least breakfast was delicious

Word to the wise. If you are traveling to SE Asia on a flight longer than half a day and you want to sit next to someone who isn’t a total stranger, check your seat assignments before you leave the check in kiosk. Trust me. You’ll be glad you did. I, unfortunately, didn’t look at my seat assignment until we were boarding the plane. Ken and I were nowhere close to each other. In fact, we were in completely different cabins. Despite my best efforts, neither of the folks seated by me were willing to trade places with Ken, so I spent the entire flight smashed between two strangers. It was awful. It was also really sweaty and cramped. And I had to pee. And the woman on the aisle had some kind of disability that made walking/standing difficult and she informed me that she would only be able to stand up to let me out twice during the flight so I had better hold it. Did I mention how much I enjoyed my trans-pacific flight?

The one truly shining moment was when they served us breakfast. It was about 4:30 am and I was starved. Breakfast consisted of diced fried potatoes, two sausage links, an omelet, a banana nut muffin, an awesome cup of fresh fruit, raspberry yogurt and OJ. I inhaled it. It was freakin awesome.

The flight to HCMC from Hong Kong was only two hours long, so imagine our surprise when the announced that they would be serving breakfast. It was around 9:00 at that point and we knew lunch wasn’t really going to happen, so we tucked in to breakfast number two. This is the smörgåsbord of deliciousness pictured above. The menu was scrambled eggs topped with a cheese and spinach sautée, a tiny bratwurst type sausage, fresh tomato, a croissant with strawberry jam, another awesome fruit cup (with delicious dragon fruit)and apple juice. Tasty. Tasty. Tasty!!

Click here if you want to see photos from our journey.

15 Comments

Filed under In Vietnam, Uncategorized

15 responses to “at least breakfast was delicious

  1. twd3lr

    Wow! This is almost surreal, getting to read about your experiences with only the slightest delay. Sorry to hear that the two of you were split up on the long flight–that sucks. Good luck on the rest of your journey; Ashley and I look forward to reading and seeing more!

  2. Dianna

    Jess, LOVING the pics of the hotel room *lol* Oh my gosh, I can’t believe you’re finally there. I’ll be checking in obsessively!

  3. Miss Cleo

    Sounds like a groovy flight. I got stuck next to a woman (large) in a wheelchair to Israel once. I got the same ” you can pee twice” comment. Not fun. Glad you made it.

  4. Heather

    You made it!!! Woo Hoo!!! (huge sigh of relief)

    Are thoses twin beds???

  5. LaLa

    Maybe she should have taken the window seat…geeeezzz

    Glad the food was good at least and you are THERE…where your SON is!!!

  6. Kelly

    I am so glad that you guys made it finally. Sorry about the flight. That is miserable.

  7. Heather

    OMG – your flight story was great! At least it was memorable, right?? So glad you are there and about to meet your precious son.

  8. Susie

    Hey Jessica, why did ya switch back to the Rex hotel? Just curious. I loved the Rex..that’s where I stayed, but thought the Kim Do was better. Just interested. Glad you’re there…sorry about the flight..it will all be worth it soon! SusieR

  9. rachel

    Wow, so sorry about the lousy seat assignments! Yikes, I would have been miserable too. But you made it, safe and sound. At least you’ll have some good stories for Beckett. 🙂

  10. Anonymous

    How cool is your little tiny kitchen at the hotel? Yeah, I always eat on international flights because, hey, boredom. The dragonfruit looks delish. Be glad you had breakfast–we had bibimbap (spicy savory rice dish) on the flight back from Seoul, and my tummy was like: “Hey, this isn’t Golean.” Plus, the flight back will be your introduction to: “Okay, you eat for five minutes while I hold the baby, and then we’ll swap.” 😉 WHEN WHEN WHEN are you traveling to get Mr. B? Is it not till the G&R date? Wasn’t sure how far it was away. –Kat.

  11. Chuck, Jean Anne and Lucy

    Strange…I would have just assumed that your seats would be together. Great tip…just hope I can remember it!

    I’m feeling hungry…wonder why?

    Thanks for the update and have a great time!!

  12. Julie

    Glad to hear you made it.

    The pictures are great!!!

  13. Michelle and Peter

    Sucks about the flight. I will have to make sure that does not happen. But just think once your holding Beckett that will all be forgotten. Michelle

  14. Heather

    I thought of one more thing I wanted to tell you. Dragon fruit is a great way to keep the kids “regular” – esp with the change in diet. Just a little tip…. Obviously you can also find it everywhere!

  15. The Varns

    Glad to hear you are there! That sucks about your flight. wow,who was your travel agent so I do not use them?

Leave a Reply

